Clearing Your Browsing History Isn’t Enough
If you want to keep your browsing private from other people on your computer, clearing your browsing history should be enough to make sure no one knows where you’ve been on the internet. Unfortunately, if you’re using Google Chrome that isn’t the case.
With Chrome, if you’re signed into your browser Google collects your browsing and search history and links it to your Google account. It can be an issue if you think that you’ve gotten rid of your browsing history, only to find out you can still see what you’ve looked at. If you share your computer, someone could open your Chrome browser and go to ‘My Activity’ in Google and if you’re still logged in they can see where you’ve gone online, where you’ve physically gone and even specific videos you’ve watched on YouTube.
If you don’t want people to be able to see what you’ve been up to online, you should first log out of your Google account if you aren’t using your computer. You should also clear your data from your Google account. Another step to take is to disable Google’s tracking, so that it never even puts this information in your Google Activity.
Read More: How to Clear Your Google Search History